University of California, Riverside

Earth Sciences

Department of Earth Sciences

Undergraduate Programs

Undergraduate majors in Earth Sciences

The Department of Earth Sciences currently offers three undergraduate degree programs: Bachelor of Science (B.S.) degrees in Geology, Earth Sciences, and Geophysics. In addition, we offer Minor options in Geology, Geophysics and Global Climate Change.

Earth Science degrees cover all scientific studies related to the planet Earth, including the study of Earth composition, structure, processes, and history. The degree programs include the study of the organisms that inhabit our planet, how natural hazards affect society, and the past, present and future of climate change. Our B.S. programs in the Department of Earth Sciences place substantial emphasis on preparing students for graduate study and a wide range of rewarding careers. The B.A. degree, on the other hand, is designed for students who wish to teach general science or earth science at a secondary school level, and combines training in general science and pedagogy with concentrated study in general geology.

Please select the appropriate link on the navigation bar in order to learn more; information on currently offered classes is available here.

More Information

General Campus Information

University of California, Riverside
900 University Ave.
Riverside, CA 92521
Tel: (951) 827-1012

UCR LibrariesCampus Status
Career OpportunitiesDiversity
Visit UCRMaps and Directions

Earth Sciences Information

Department of Earth Sciences
Geology Building

Tel: (951) 827-3182
Fax: (951) 827-4324